I’ll Be Meeting God In The Air FRIDAY, Or Charlie Takes Vacation Again

No I’m not saying I’ll meet God in the air on Friday because I’m so holy that I’ll be raptured a full day before anyone else. I’m saying that because tomorrow I’m flying with my wife and daughter to the east coast where I was born and raised and because anytime I travel God seems to take advantage of the reflective mood movement induces and speaks to me.

I’ve written about this personal phenomenon before, where I do some of my most prolific journaling and soul searching while traveling. So I’ll be meeting God in the air – a full day ahead of Harold Camping!

I’ll be gone all next week with limited internet access (my family doesn’t have internet in their home), and I’ve scheduled once again posts that I call b-sides, though I hope you’ll read them anyway.

And as for the rapture scheduled on Saturday – well I feel for my buddy who is getting married that day as I’m sure he’d like to consumate the marriage before the rapture occurs. I’m not worried, not only because I don’t think anyone will know the date or time, but also because I don’t believe in the Rapture altogether.

In my understanding of things heaven is to be held on earth, and God does not isolate us from our suffering world but instead sends us to the heart of it. (Not only that, the Rapture theology is based poorly on one piece of Scripture a relatively new idea in Christian thought).

Wish my family luck on the airplane, as Noelle does not sit still, ever, and does not nap well. At least we won’t be hitting any ascending believers, I suppose – what a terrible way to go so close to glory.

Do you believe in the Rapture? What do you think the End Times will look like? Or are you so tired of hearing about it lately you’ll pass?

This entry was posted in Takin' It Personal. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to I’ll Be Meeting God In The Air FRIDAY, Or Charlie Takes Vacation Again

  1. Oh maaaaannnnn…..I wish I could meet you guys while you’re here!

  2. David says:

    I believe in a rapture, but after Jesus comes back, not before. We are going up, or he is coming down, but it all new!

    Here is my take from a while back (around the Haiti Earthquake) on when the end will come. I think we can add Japan to the list, along with Libya, Syria and few other Middle East hot spots.

    Judgement Revival and End Times

    Have a wonderful vacation with your family. BTW – I was up praying for you this morning.

  3. Last line is classic.

    Yep, I’ve come to the conclusion that pre-millenial pre-tribulationists draw up a really clear time line by REALLY stretching and convoluting a lot of Scripture that isn’t clearly connected in any way. I believe Jesus is coming back in some fashion somehow and at some time, but I am absolutely clueless as to how that will happen and whether it’s a reference to individual believers or to the earth as a whole. Very confusing to me and I absolutely refuse to believe ANYBODY who says they’ve got it all figured out, because NONE of the theories really make sense. And if it’s really so clear and obvious, why is it so confusingly written? I think there’s a lot more allegory and types and illustration there than we can really understand.

    Not that making sense to ME has anything to do with truth vs. error.

  4. Darius says:

    I agree, no rapture. But try telling that to a majority of evangelicals and you’ll get a “deer in the headlights” look. Many Christians don’t even know that there are other ways to view eschatology. As a post/amillennialist, I think the Bible seems to indicate ONE return of Christ, ONE judgment, and ONE future reign on EARTH (a wiped clean and renewed version, that is).

  5. Carla says:

    I am so tired of hearing about it lately I’ll pass! But I’ve been tired of hearing about end times since before I heard of Harold Camping! I actually wrote a post on it back in March. http://www.3-foldcord.com/2011/03/escha-what.html

    I just think focusing on the end and when and how it will be or having an intense longing to meet Jesus is not the way we are supposed to live. The apostles thought that Christ was coming back “soon” and yet they still went about doing God’s work, they still sought the Lord through prayer, study, and fellowship. They didn’t reflect or obsess about Christ’s return or their own deaths. I don’t know Christ’s definition of “coming soon” but I’m not going to worry about, and I ask Him on a regular basis to hold back because we have so much work to do, so many more souls to reach. And I think He listens to those prayers.

    Have fun on vacay! Good luck flying with baby!

  6. Amy says:

    Personally, I get all my End Times theology from the Left Behind movies, so I’m not sure what’s going to happen, only that Kirk Cameron will figure prominently in it.

  7. Larry Hughes says:

    There are two theories on the rapture depending on what you read. Some theories say it will happen as a pre tribulation. Other theories say it will happen as a post tribulation.

    Either way, both will be glorious but the pre tribulationist believe that we as Christians will not be involved in the times of peril and the anti Christ persecutions. So I guess that is a consolation. However, I do believe not all so called Good Christians will be on the first flight out even if Jesus does come for His flock. I am sure many will be “left behind ” for a little while.

    As far as this day for the end, it aint going to happen yet. Still have to have the appearance of the Anti Christ, the wars, the plagues, the one world rulling, religion, and many other factors. Nope not yet, but it is getting closer daily. Of course we have had severe tradgedies recently but what we will experience in those times are far more severe than what we have recently experienced.

    As Jesus said, He will come like a theif in the night so be prepaired and only my Father knows the exact time. So I guess I am saying not to worry about when it will happen but just lead a Christ led life while we wait patiently ( if that is possible).

    There is still much work to do before it is time. Lead others to salvation, be a role model and mentor for those that are seeking salvation, love others, and be open to spreading the gospel.

    Praying you and your family, have a safe and enjoyable trip.

  8. theoldadam says:

    I don’t spend too much time thinking about the end times. I can barely handle what is going on in my life right now.

    Anyway, whatever it is, I figure God can handle it. (even if I can’t)

Leave a Reply

