Good Christian Music Is No Longer An Oxymoron, Or Featuring The Robbie Seay Band

I’ve whined about Christian music a fair amount on here. For good reason, I do believe. I may even be cooking up a post as we speak about how some of our modern worship songs perpetuate unhealthy and unrealistic ultra religious views of God. I hope it sees the light of day.

I can’t handle most of what’s on Christian radio today. It’s contrived, lifeless, predictible, and it relies on a select few tonalities (a la U2) to try to strike the emotional nerve. Mostly, though, the music doesn’t feel natural. It feels forced.

Allow me to present an exception.

My favorite Christian band by a long shot is the Robbie Seay Band. Their music has a unique sound from the rest, though it’s not artsy fartsy, and the songwriting is simple yet poignant. I’m also a sucker for Robbie’s raspy voice.

The first song I’ll feature  is “Hallelujah God Is Near.”  The lyrics don’t seem to be much different from usual modern worship yet there is still something about it that sets it apart. To showcase my nerd-dom the version I’m posting isn’t the one that appears on their major label release “Better Days” because this version’s music is just hot fire. (David – here’s some Christian guitar playing for ya.)

Note this video, like the next, is just so you can hear the song – the visual is just the album cover.

Next up is from the latest record “Miracle.” The song is called “We Are Not Alone” and it’s likely one of my favorites by them, even though it’s not in their usual vein.

If you’re interested in the comments I’ll post a few more of my favorites, because this is such a good band.

Now reign the praises upon Robbie Seay Band!

This entry was posted in The Basement (Random). Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to Good Christian Music Is No Longer An Oxymoron, Or Featuring The Robbie Seay Band

  1. The intro to this song is amazing and proves just how good these guys are – the rest of the song doesn’t disappoint. I listen to this to get pumped up for work, and on the rare occasion I go for a run

    Here’s a darker side to the Robbie Seay Band from “Give Yourself Away”

    At first I thought the chorus echo was cheesy but now I love this song – it builds and moves and leaves you moved

  2. screw it here’s some more!

    This song has an uncanny way of slowing me down and building me up – the music is beautiful and the simple lyrics puncture

    This is the first song I heard from Robbie and it’s a moody, maybe even subdued tune that has a melancholy feel to it. It’s almost relaxing but there is too much going on in the music – and it all works.

    Finally this song, like the last two, are from their first major label album Better Days and this song in an uncheesy way puts you in the arms of Jesus without burden. The title alone is worth admission “Jesus, Garden Of My Rest”

  3. I can’t wait to listen, Charlie, but it’s 5:30 A.M. and everybody else is still asleep! I’ll be getting back to you….
    :0)
    Jane

  4. David says:

    Very nice – gave listen to most of it. More soul than the average Lincoln Brewster tune. Some Chris Tomlin influence in there for sure. I’d buy it.

    The biggest problem with Christian music is this: although many of the words sound Bible, they are not inspired. Even a low quality production that is truly inspired is more beneficial spiritually than the best quality song that is not. Since the early days of Vineyard, the trend has been to simplify music so that average person can sing along and worship God. It’s a double-edged sword. Simple, and when un-anointed, it’s uninteresting.

    We need inspired music, not religious music!

    • there you go wanting God apart of everything David!!! :p

      I’m nervous if you consider this inspired or not – they’re my favs. So I won’t ask.

      Worship definitely got dumbed down along the way – compare hymns to Chris Tomlin (I haven’t listened to much of him but I never would have compared the amazing RSB to him, then again I’m not Christian music expert)

  5. Tenth Avenue North. MercyMe. The Afters.

    There’s a lot more good music out there with a solid message for Christians than a lot of people want to admit. The backlash against the Christian music industry has become a bit ridiculous, creating the perception that Christians are a joke if they listen to it, that listening to music that make no pretense is actually less hypocritical. That’s crap, let’s be honest. Music that doesn’t talk about God or Jesus Christ isn’t automatically bad, but some of it is incredibly unnecessary for a Christian to consume. “Christian music” may not be theologically “deep” and much of it is even wrong. However, the Bible talks a good deal about singing, and music that is focused on matters of salvation through Christ and worship of God and His Son the Saviour should spark a special consideration in the heart of those who claim that they follow Christ. When we mock an artist because his lyrics are “weak” or when we proclaim that his music is “awful”, we add to a culture that despises Christ.

    So, while I don’t listen to everything with equal excitement, I’m a little fed up with the “suddenly cool” mockery of music that may well be someone’s very best effort to glorify Christ or to win some to him. Sure, they may do some damage to the kingdom. But what do I accomplish by tearing them down?

    • it’s definitely cool to hate on Christian music right now in the too-cool-for-school scene. Some of it is earned, but it’s obviously an unfair generalization.

      I think its difficult to wrap something in a message without it affecting the quality. I think you can tell when a song was written with the heart just getting it all out and you can tell when a song was written to convey a particular message.

  6. But with all that said, I really like Robby Seay too 🙂 Thanks for the videos.

    I want to somehow promote the good stuff without making other folks feel unChristian or unloved, even. You’ve done that here, and kudos to ya.

  7. Jason says:

    Robbie Seay Band. Love ’em. I was still in Christian radio when their first radio single hit the street and we were all over it.

    I love me some David Crowder Band but it’s likely because I met everyone but Dave and heard their heart for what they’re doing. When you meet them and know they’re for real personally it helps me appreciate their music.

    Most of my favorite “Christian” bands have been gone for a long time.

    • I recently started enjoying DCB – Church Music is fantastic music. The lyrics are a little too typical for me, but man they can jam. They are certainly well hyped – where as Robbie Seay Band seems fairly ignored. I’d pick the depth of Robbie anyday, but then again I’m a fanboy apparently 🙂

  8. Chris says:

    Really good sound.

    Here’s one of my favorites. It’s a paired down version of the CD track which is more produced, but I like it too. I like it because the melody is austere and the lyrics are jarring.

  9. Larry Hughes says:

    The way I see it is some will think a song is inspirational while others say it is religious and not inspirational. I guess it is ones personal taste in that matter. As long as the message gets through that is fine.

    Well I will just shoot my self in the foot and go with Keri Jobe especially in the revelation song and the Celtic Women “religious” songs. When they sing, it is like angels singing.

    I do have satellite radio in my car but the so called inspirational songs there seem to be lacking for the most part. Some times they will have a good tune and presentation so that moves me ( inspires me).

  10. Su says:

    Maybe you should have made this post longer! 😉 WTG for finding a good Christian band.

  11. I first read your post several days ago, Charlie, and was thinking quite a bit about it as I rode in the car with my son for well over 2 hours this afternoon. He had the radio on…not Christian radio, and as I listened I realized that it isn’t just Christian music that’s all sounding the same these days. Every next song that came on had the same, brooding, melancholy tone, the same chord progressions, many of the same rhythmic patterns. In some cases it’s even hard to tell one singer from another. There isn’t a whole lot that’s original out there anywhere. So, I guess there’s value in appreciating lots of different styles of music, and lots of different eras. Everything is so boxed into catagories now that it’s the only way to get some variety in the diet.

    • you got me on that one. I work with teenagers who listen to pop radio all day and it is very contrived stuff. I will say generally it’s catchier than the Christian stuff – Christian music seems to lack solid melody. Either way now that music is big money and you can’t serve two masters guess who wins and guess what suffers!

  12. Chris says:

    Another form Webb.
    More on the justice side.

    I’m not saying I agree with everything the message in the music entails, but I do like how it shakes me from my position of complacency and makes me ask some of the same questions of myself that were asked of the rich young ruler by Jesus, and if I’m honest I walk away sad as well.

  13. Pingback: Lamenting Norway and Haiti, Or Getting Real With God With Crackling Voices | Charlie's Church of Christ

Leave a Reply

