Personal Annoucement, Or The Church Is Gonna Have To Wait On New Carpet

Wednesday night I posted on twitter and in the comments to the previous post that I had just received some devastating personal news.

The drug & alcohol recovery program I work for is closing… In two weeks I’m losing my job. You may say “that’s not as bad as I thought.”

Lists of reasons why this is so devastating that I made an ominous tweet:

  1. Since my wife and I have an 8 month old baby, I have been the sole income earner for our family.
  2. We just bought a house last month. We haven’t even made our first payment.
  3. The job market in our town is really bad. It’s bad everywhere, but it’s really bad here. We have the worst job market in our state, and Oregon has one of the worst job markets in the country.
  4. Due to working part time elsewhere, I will get significantly less unemployment benefits, if any.
  5. I truly loved my job. I planned on working in the program for 10 years, so it’s not just a loss of money, but also great personal satisfaction.
  6. I think this is the beginning of the end of my career in the helping profession. So in addition to losing my job I’m also losing my sense of direction.

I hope no one worried there was any medical tragedy occurring, I apologize if that was insinuated. I must say after hearing all those stories of people losing their jobs in this economy I never realized just how mortifying it is. I am now painfully aware. I cried yesterday – HARD. Generally I’m a very rational and calm person – but I am AFRAID.

Though I am VERY preoccupied with trying to find a new job somehow, I will try to continue to post on here. I make no promises on quantity, but I will try. I’ve been working hard on trying to build this blog and write good material, and so I don’t want to lose that. At the same time I have a very urgent priority that will be all consuming.

The ultimate irony is that Wednesday’s post was a bold one for me, and I feverishly looked forward to hearing from you all. Truly. Right after posting it I found out the news, so I haven’t had a chance to read any of the comments. Thanks for giving me grace there, I will reply soon.

Resume tips?

This entry was posted in Takin' It Personal. Bookmark the permalink.

38 Responses to Personal Annoucement, Or The Church Is Gonna Have To Wait On New Carpet

  1. Ammo says:

    Good luck man praying for you.

  2. Charlie: for some reason when you answered that last post with that short little announcement, I felt it was going to be this. My first thought then was “Lord, show him direction.” Sorry to hear this my “friend.” I have lost my job as a pastor several times, but never at a time like you have expressed. So, my prayers will include you and your family- for provision, a sense of security and peace, wisdom to know God’s direction, AND A JOB. Blessings to you Charlie. Post when you can. I will be looking forward to hearing of your journey.

    • thank you Bill. Losing a job is difficult, even if you quit it! I don’t think I could handle losing a job as a pastor, I’d take it too personally and use it as an excuse for bitterness and judgment, so it’s great to see that hasn’t toppled you. Thank you for the prayers. Expect rants.

  3. David says:

    Thanks for the email and the post, Charlie. It is mortifying, I will grant you that. I am sorry for the news.

    It’s always easy for those of us that are working to say “keep your chin up” and stuff like that. I know that it doesn’t always fix things in your soul; it didn’t for me. I suppose one of the good things about being older is that I have survived this four times in the last 10 years. The last time was in the midst of the economic slow down a little less that 2 years ago. In my mind the bullet list was pretty much like yours – it was a great job, I had planned to retire from it, and I was over 50. People said stuff like “for every $10K you made in salary, it will take that many months to find a job.” (Job’s friends!)

    We were devastated like you (it was a Thursday), and my wife had been laid off a few weeks before. We ran to the bank the day after and began pushing things around. A few days into my unemployment (Sunday), when I finally recovered from the shock, and I began to pray “God what do you want me to do?” I heard him say “look on Dice.com.” I had heard of the site, but had never visited it. There was one job for a programmer, just one in my area, and it looked like my outdated skills were actually what they were looking for. I applied and figured that I would never hear from them. I started working all the other resume sites too. I emailed my resume to everyone I knew, updated my online portfolio, and posted on Facebook as well. I couldn’t sleep.

    Less than 24 hours later, I got a call from that job. I had an interview on Tuesday, and an offer on Thursday for more than I was making before. Amazing! Because I had some severance pay, I started 2 weeks later after a nice vacation.

    I am praying that God will do the very same for you, Charlie – Jesus’ name! That he will speak to you about where to find the job that is next for you, and give you peace in the process.

    I hope that you’ll blog about your Christian life as you progress through this. Faith in tough times is a good topic, and your community of faith here at C3 is with you.

  4. Charlie,

    I am so sorry to hear about your losing your job. As a sole income earner for my family, I know the kind of stress you are under. I have been there and I feel myself being in your place when you write about this. I know the frustration. Praying for you. Please keep everyone posted about your situation.

  5. Chris says:

    Charlie, wow that is heavy, but as others have said we are here praying for you.
    I know you love the blog and we love reading it, but your family is your main priority. We can go on without it for a while. Just call it a hiatus until further notice, unless it really just gives you an outlet for sanity. I hope it gives you some comfort to know that your efforts on this blog have created a community that has gotten to know you and that is practicing intercessory prayer on your behalf.

    • well oddly enough immediately after writing this post last night I got the idea for three more posts and started them. So I may end up ignoring your advice and trudging ahead. It may be nice to have something to invest in besides editing my resume.

      And Chris it means a lot to hear that from you, as especially at first you were a bit of a devil’s advocate for me (and trust me, I need that, really. In fact I welcome it now!) I am amazed there is a little community here, we’re like Cheers or something!

  6. Amy says:

    Praying for you and your family, Charlie! My roomie just lost her part-time job last month (brought in like $450 month) and it’s been rough. She found out 30 days ago and just finished it this week. I mean, she already works full-time. Anyway, God has provided for us. I know that sounds cliche, but He has…and you definitely have more factors to contend with.

    Just praying.

  7. Ike says:

    1John 3:17.

  8. Su says:

    Will be praying.

  9. Bernard Shuford says:

    Painful, and I am so sorry. I will definitely pray for your situation, friend.

  10. Larry Hughes says:

    Charlie:

    I am deeply saddened to hear of this. Like I said in the previous post, I am here if you want to talk.

    Sadly many are facing this through out the country so you are not alone even though it may feel that way. It is sad that our politicians in Washington now are pushing every thing imaginable in new reforms but no issue is more important than job creation and that is the one issue they all have ignored for too long. I hope we remember that during the next presidential election.

    In your case, you have many friends on this site and I am sure they all will be supportive. My deepest prayers go out to you and your family. However, I am confident you will be able to find something if not equal to what you were involved in before but substantial enough to maintain a living condition. I’ve been through it before a few times but I survived.

    I am not going to tell you every thing is going to be rosey and it might be tough to start but with setting the priorities and having a plan worked out with every body, you can work through this.

    The one thing that helped me once was my NASCAR friends on the Fox Sports blogs for NASCAR. Although I was out of work and my Photography business had not taken off yet, I always had friends through out the country that kept me on my toes writing articles about the NASCAR races which kept me in a positive mood. They were also helpful on sending me tips on job spots in their areas.

    Take care. My prayers are with you.

    Larry

    • thanks Larry. I definitely know my situation isn’t unique – and it’s precisely because it isn’t that makes this even harder actually – as my sense of desperation to find a job is also in thousands of other people.

      It is true there is a lil community here, and it’s heart warming to log on tonight and see 10 people reply to this post.

  11. Charlie,

    You said:
    “I think this is the beginning of the end of my career in the helping profession. So in addition to losing my job I’m also losing my sense of direction.”

    First off, I can completely empathize with your new situation that is being thrust upon you. It sucks, it stinks, it’s ca-ca, and it seems HUGE. Doubt and confusion and wonder and the “OH MY GOSH WHAT DO I DO NOW?!” feelings will come and will seek to cripple you spiritually.

    However, as is my character, I am not here to pat you on the head and tell you I understand your plight and blah blah blah. I am simply not one to familiarize with others on the basis of “bad news”. Blech.

    So, here is what I can offer you:
    Charlie, you are not lost. You are not without hope. You are not a failure or a weak husband or a bad father who cannot provide. You are not going to be left floundering under some cruel perception of God’s goodness in that it seems like The World is closing in on you. I am saying these things not because I see you acting the role of the martyr, NO, but I say these things to strengthen the truth that is sonship. This is the truth you walk in. Son. I speak harshly on my blog, this is true. But allow me to speak words of strength and warfare to you right now.

    Charlie. Everything is going to be okay. It is. To say to you that I shall be praying for you is an understatement. I will specifically be putting your name before the God I worship for the strengthening of your role and position in Him as a son. I shall not stand idle and leave any room for the enemy to come in and sow worry or fear or doubt into the life that our Father has so graciously given you. Our God has this under His sure control. Everything is going to be okay.

    You have a sense of direction, already imprinted on the compass of your life, and manifested through the desires you have on your heart. Keep in mind, these desires were planted there by our Father. “Delight yourself in the LORD, and He will give you the desires of your heart.” I believe this about you, Charlie. The worst thing the enemy can do is to blind you, Charlie. He will seek to steal your vision. He will try to gouge out your spiritual eyes. I will stand in that gap of warfare and not relent. I say this to you as a son and as a brother, although it is quite true we have never met.

    Everything will be okay, my friend. Sometimes life hands us a crap sandwich and we must take a bite. But we don’t have to swallow it. We can surely spit it out, back into the face of the one who handed it to us. Our lives have nothing to do with this side of Heaven, save for the fact this is where we are right now, and this is where our father wants us. We are Kingdom citizens. Everything will be okay.

    Jesus is in your corner, Charlie. As corny as that may sound, it is truer than true. And I’m the guy holding the spit bucket.

    Got ya covered, Charlie.

    • Wow Donald. You are quite the writer, and even more so, quite the brother.

      I’m definitely torn. (Just to warn you we’re gonna be using a lot of hands here) On one hand I felt a strong call to begin working with hurting people that led me to this field back in college. On another hand I’m discovering more and more that agents of change are people, not programs (the point we both agree on). On another hand this is where my expertise lies as well as all of my training. On another hand this is the 3rd program I’ve worked for that’s closed down and the field is VERY unstable. On another hand I care a lot about making a difference in the world, and I’d like to be able to do that while I work too. On yet another hand it pays terrible and I have to work 60 hours a week just so we can live.

      So I’m being pulled in all these directions. The only remaining places to work in my field and in my town are, well, not that great. They’d be stressful, difficult and unsatisfying (it’s a small town, I do know them all).

      Thanks again Donald for your words – I’ve read them twice as they are really meaningful. I guess we will see how this all pans out. And also many thanks for your prayers (understatement). That speaks to the caliber person that you are.

  12. Charlie, may I ask where you are? (Just in case I,, or anyone here, might be in God’s network for you.) I’ve already prayed. Just trying to think if there’s any practical measures to be taken.
    :0) <—-a smile for you and your family.
    Jane

  13. Larry Hehn says:

    It’s definitely not easy or comfortable, but looking back on my own similar experience, it’s incredible to see in hindsight all of God’s provision. Praying for clarity, vision, strength, endurance and peace for you, Charlie!

  14. jay @ bethegospel says:

    take care f your family man. don’t worry bout us. i’m posting way less now than i was before.

  15. Pingback: Grace For The Young Traveler, Or There Is No Leap Frog | Charlie's Church of Christ

  16. Pingback: The Good And The Bad News, Or This Ain’t No Game of Pin The Tail On The Donkey | Charlie's Church of Christ

  17. Steve C says:

    Sorry to hear about the job situation…

    From what I’ve read and heard from you, I’m sure you will find something soon that is perfect for you and your family. Uncertainty can be frightening. I understand feeling like you are in a transition in your career and life… and that can feel daunting.

    It will work out. Live in the moment and take each day as it comes. As you know so well, living one day at a time is really the best way to live.

    Take care and keep posting. I mean, what else are you going to do with all that time? 🙂

    • Thanks Steve. Apart of me wants to take the opportunity to chill for a bit – mountain bike, play with daughter, grow the blog, but every day I’m not out on the job market I’d be paranoid I was missing some opportunity. Not to mention that pesky mortgage!

  18. How’s the job search going?

  19. Well I just started praying. :0)

  20. Pingback: Cycleguy's Spin » Blog Archive “ShoutOuts” | Cycleguy's Spin

Leave a Reply

