The Different Ways Christians Get On The Nightly News, Or Bored By Mountains

Tonight I was browsing a Christian news website, and as I scanned headlines I noticed a trend. See if you think you can predict what I’ll say. Here are the news stories that caught my eye:

Do you see what I see?

We’ve got it pretty good here in the West. For all the complaining some do about how America used to be a Christian nation, about how we’re not being permitted proper religious expression, about how there is a culture war/a backlash against Christianity in our society – well really we pretty much complaining about bent umbrellas in our drinks.

The headlines show American Christians openly and publicly embracing and expressing their faith, if not our right flourishing (in the case of being influential leaders) whereas in some parts of the world Christians are being severely persecuted.

I don’t point this out to heap guilt on you. I don’t find that particularly helpful. I point this out so that we can be grateful. Of course things aren’t perfect, but comparatively our issues are not life and death ones – so we’re already ahead of a lot of the world.

One of the most difficult things to continually remember to do is be grateful. We are people get accustomed and adjusted and forget like the Israelites what it was like to be slaves, and we are suddenly disgruntled with our circumstances. We take the people who love us the most for granted, we get entitled about gifts, we get used the majestic mountains we live in the shadow of.

And may it be known I’m writing this post just as much for my own benefit (and reminder) as I am for you. It took me seeing the situations going on around the world to remember what absolute luxury we live in.

This entry was posted in Wayward North American Church. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to The Different Ways Christians Get On The Nightly News, Or Bored By Mountains

  1. JamesBrett says:

    we are “pretty much complaining about bent umbrellas in our drinks.”

    that’s one of the best lines i’ve read this week.

  2. David says:

    I don’t drink any longer, but I do remember Scorpion Bowls!

    Yes, in many ways we have it better than many persecuted countries. But don’t fool yourself, it is n’t going to get better, or stay better in the US forever. The right that i had as a kid, and fought for in my children’s behalf, many are gone.

    But you are correct, we have a lot of good things here.

Leave a Reply

