About The Only Thing That Makes Sense, Or What To Hang Our Hat On

It continues to be a BUSY week for me personally, with my parents leaving town as my father-in-law arrives, all to see my wife and I but mostly our now 7 week old daughter. And to top it all off I was a groomsman in a huge 230 person wedding mere hours ago, so therefore I haven’t had much time set aside for sleep lately, let alone writing. Please forgive me accordingly. (yes this means this post was written late at night after a L-O-N-G wedding today)

As I mentioned previously in a post about the sinking ship attempt to make Christianity cool and hip to the rest of modern culture, Jesus’ loudly professed followers do much to make their fellow brethren look like fools for associating with the religion. You do not need me to list examples of this, it would be redundant.

True, Christians do and believe some crazy, dare I say troublesome things. In the greater Western culture you’ll find few people to argue that claim.

This past weekend I stood up front as a sharp dressed groomsman in a large fancy wedding. The bride’s family is Mennonite, and because the bride’s family as traditionally fronts the offensively high bill for the shindig, they therefore have a bit more say in the going’s ons.

All that to say – it was a Christian wedding.

The groom’s family, by contrast – almost all non-Christian. Hard alcohol drinkin’ types at. It made for some of the best people watchin’ of the year – the intermingling of those groups.

The ceremony included a standard scripture reading, only fitting for a highly religious wedding. However the stand out moment for me, by a country mile, was the reading of the part of scripture that says “if I give to the poor, but have no love in my heart, then it is all for nothing,” and “if I save a hundred souls for Jesus but do it sans love, then what good was it at all?” (CCC paraphrase, exclusive edition).

As I stood there in the grueling wind I saw, yet again, how beautiful and poignant that passage is. And I saw how that alone is our saving grace. As I say in the title, its what we hang our hat on – it’s about all we go.

Love – that’s our ticket. Not fancy debates or philosophies, not hip churches with the latest multimedia equipment, not elaborate programs designed to end poverty – no none of that. Love – it’s what will carry us home. Love – its our goal always and forever, and above ALL else (maybe even conversion itself). Love.

Simply love.

Good day (or night) lovers.

This entry was posted in Deconstructing Big Fancy Religious Systems, Takin' It Personal. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to About The Only Thing That Makes Sense, Or What To Hang Our Hat On

  1. David says:

    Love certainly is supposed to be the hallmark fruit of Christianity. 1 Corinthians 13 is part of a 3 chapter treatise (12-14) on the use of the spiritual gifts, which; for the most part, are nonexistent in the church – save the charismatic and Pentecostal denominations.

    Matthew 5 is more to the point: 46 If you love those who love you, what reward will you get? Are not even the tax collectors (Democrats 🙂 ) doing that? 47 And if you greet only your brothers, what are you doing more than others? Do not even pagans do that?

    John 13:34-35 A new commandment I give to you, that you love one another; even as I have loved you, that you also love one another. By this all men will know that you are my disciples, if you have love for one another.

    The real question is what is love? Is it just being nice, or assisting someone in need? Was Jesus loving when He turned over the tables of the money changers?

    Love is not just “doing good.” but it is doing the will of the Father in Heaven.

  2. for some, trying to love someone means putting all of their effort simply into being nice. But from that seemingly minimal effort God grows and expands that heart’s capacity. He picks away at the ice, but that ice does not come without a fight!

  3. David says:

    I dunno Charlie – that sounds a lot like striving to be a “good person,” and not the transformation to the new man that we were promised in coming to know Jesus.

  4. Angela says:

    Hey Charlie…I read this article recently and I thought it would be a super cool topic for your blog. I’d love to hear your thoughts on it:

    http://hipsterchristianity.com/anatomy.php?sceneNum=2

Leave a Reply

