The Failure of a Thousand Ministers, or How Christian Books Don’t Bring Me Any Closer to God

My wife and I share a bookshelf as well as a small dresser (oh and a life), and truth be told I have more books and clothing than her. The dresser aspect simply speaks to the kind of woman she is – as she just doesn’t own all that much clothing. In fact neither do I – I just happen to have slightly more. As for books, well, not many of my friends know this but I read almost exclusively religious books. I have a half dozen or so non-religious books, and that’s it (Life of Pi anyone?).

Really, I just enjoy them. I find little in Sunday church services (I prefer my home group), I don’t have a stomach for religious music, and so I find solace in religious books. I try to own only what I really want and not have extraneous books, but nonetheless I’ve got a fair sized quiver. (Yes I’m aware that refers to arrows, though I’ve heard it used to refer to a collection of surfboards, so I’m expanding it even more).

I’m not ready yet to divulge the range of authors I have because no matter whose name you drop there is a connotation, association and judgment attached to each one, no matter how safe and cuddly they are. However today I began to ask a question – what do I gain from all these books?

Since I don’t show it off to anyone I’m not gaining any “ohh look how smart and intellectual he is” points. The reading part of my life didn’t arise until mid-college, so it hasn’t always been apart of me. So you’d think because this is a recent addition to my life that I’d report a newfound or stronger connection with God.

However even with the advent of a pile of spiritually minded books I can’t honestly say that I’m a better person because of them, in spite of the author’s hard work and great intentions. Certainly some books elicited responses where I felt closer to God, however if I take a step back that closeness seems only temporary, much like a buzz one gets from a strong beer.

I really wonder if my relationship with God has improved, if all of the talk of transformation has amounted to any tangible or noticeable change. I’d say my relationship with God has stayed about the same, more or less, in the last few years. No great advances, not a higher level of intimacy. I feel as though I’m where I’ve been for a while. My insight maybe has advanced, but that’s about all I can see.

Granted, we are most certainly the sum of our experiences, and I don’t see all of the ways the ideas and books I’ve encountered have become apart of me and are carried to each place I go in my life. However it still begs the question of have these books really brought me any further in my life? Or have they only given the appearance, especially to myself, that I’m pursuing God and his kingdom?

The same could be asked of sermons and conferences and the like for many, many religious folk. My particular example simply happens to be literature.

Well I suppose if nothing else they probably help keep my mind at least somewhat crisp as they invite engagement, focus, critical thinking and most simply a mind & eye exercise. But it’s worth continuing to inspect if I’ve delegated the books to a visceral part of my life that only satisfies the tiny philosopher in me, so that I can carry on life as is.

Could this be true for you? Do we fool ourselves with all of these various places we can encounter God when all they may really amount to is a small buzz?

This entry was posted in Deconstructing Big Fancy Religious Systems. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to The Failure of a Thousand Ministers, or How Christian Books Don’t Bring Me Any Closer to God

  1. David says:

    There are lots of ways I encounter God. Relationship, and personal prophecy are the most influential over the long haul. I read my Bible, study, pray regulary, and go to Sunday service (sometimes disservice) I like home groups too – just not in the time budget now.

    Interesting you don’t like Christian music. I am a musician – listening to Paul Revere and the Raiders now but i do listen to a lot of Christian stuff. Geat musicianship is inspiring.

    I started keeping track of the hundreds of Christian books that I read on Good Reads. I used to pre-read them for a Christian bookstore. There were about 350…

    Other than my Bible, these are my top 10 favorites – and for many years they have been. They moved me, caused me to ask God for more, and built my faith.

    Personally, I am tired of “How To” manuals, spiritualaity for “dummies”, programs and theology books – its way to shallow.

    I want to know Jesus, and see God working.

    -1 Like a Mighty Wind – Mel Tari
    -2 I Beleive in Miracles – Kathryn Kuhlman
    -3 The Apostle of Faith – Smith Wigglesworth
    -4 Good Morning Holy Spirit – Benny Hinn
    -5 The Blood – Benny Hinn
    -6 The God Chasers – Tommy Tenny
    -7 The God Smuggler – Bros. Andrew
    -8 Jesus Freaks – DC Talk (the book, ot the CD)
    -9 9 o’Clock in the Morning – Dennis Bennett
    -10 The Release of the Spirit- Watchman Nee

    http://www.goodreads.com/review/list/1438048

    • That’s a great idea to track what you’ve read!

      I agree with being tired of manuals and programs, you’ll certainly relate to the post coming on Monday, which is a continuation of this topic.

      I’ve only heard of one of those books, looks like my amazon wish list shall grow. I certainly have books that moved me forward, but I think they moved my theology and thinking forward moreso than my relationship with God.

  2. David says:

    @Charlie – cool. They just really built my faith in a God that was doing something. I am worn out with all the “our God is great,” “our God is alive,” but don’t expect anything until eternity. If that was true, than Christianity would simply be another philosophy.

    The first 5 were so exciting; I read them in one sitting. The others I picked at for a day or two.

    I should probably review the on my blog –

    Enjoy. I’ll be interested to see what your experience is.

  3. Pingback: Burning The Books on Church Methodology (Part 3 of The Failure of a Thousand Ministers) « Charlie's Church of Christ

  4. Pingback: Stalled In The Coffee Shop, or Fundamentalism Strikes Again! | Charlie's Church of Christ

  5. Pingback: Who Will Call Out The Christian Merchandise Industry, Or I Still Probably Won’t Quit | Charlie's Church of Christ

  6. Pingback: Most Christian Books Are As Dry As The Moon, Or Things Are Just Never As They Should Be | Charlie's Church of Christ

Leave a Reply

